A.R.M. (kinkyturtle) wrote,

Twenty-twenty-twenty-six hours to go, I wanna be 2008-ed

The following is a schedule of times to wish various world countries, regions and islands a Happy New Year as they strike midnight on Dec. 31 in their various time zones.

All times UTC. Adjust for your own time zone. [Pacific: subtract 8. Mountain: subtract 7. Central: subtract 6. Eastern: subtract 5. Other parts of the world: look it up!] Some Southern Hemisphere countries seem out of place according to a time zone map because they're currently observing DST. Russia is divided up into several time zones, each one indicated in this list by the name of a prominent city within it (except "central Siberia"; the map I was looking at had no cities listed for it).

Mon Dec 31
10:00 am - Line Islands (Wow, this is 4 am for me! Less than 3 hrs to go!)

10:15 am - Chatham Islands

11:00 am - Tonga, Phoenix Islands, New Zealand

noon ----- Petropavlovsk, Marshall Islands, Tuvalu, Fiji

12:30 pm - Norfolk Island

01:00 pm - Magadan, Kuril Islands, Solomon Islands, Vanuatu, New Caledonia, Lord Howe Island, New South Wales, Victoria, Tasmania

01:30 pm - South Australia

02:00 pm - New Siberian Islands, Vladivostok, N. Mariana Islands, Micronesia, Papua New Guinea, Queensland

02:30 pm - Northern Territory

03:00 pm - Yakutsk, Korea, Japan, Palau, eastern Indonesia, Western Australia

04:00 pm - Lake Baikal, Mongolia, China, Hong Kong, Macau, the Philippines, Malaysia, Singapore, central Indonesia

05:00 pm - Severnaya Zemlya, central Siberia, Thailand, Laos, Cambodia, Vietnam, western Indonesia

05:30 pm - Burma, Cocos Islands

06:00 pm - Omsk, Novosibirsk, most of Kazakhstan, Kyrgyzstan, Bhutan, Bangladesh, Sri Lanka, British Indian Ocean Territory

06:15 pm - Nepal

06:30 pm - India

07:00 pm - Perm', the western bit of Kazakhstan, Uzbekistan, Turkmenistan, Tajikistan, Pakistan, the Maldives, Île Amsterdam, Île Saint-Paul, Îles Crozet, Îles Kerguelen, Heard Island & McDonald Islands

07:30 pm - Afghanistan

08:00 pm - Samara, Georgia, Armenia, Azerbaijan, Oman, the Seychelles, Mauritius, Reunion

08:30 pm - Iran

09:00 pm - Franz Josef Land, Novaya Zemlya, Moscow, Iraq, Kuwait, Saudi Arabia, Bahrain, Qatar, Yemen, Sudan, Eritrea, Ethiopia, Somalia, Uganda, Kenya, Tanzania, Mayotte, Madagascar

10:00 pm - Finland, Estonia, Latvia, Lithuania, Belarus, Ukraine, Moldova, Romania, Bulgaria, Greece, Turkey, Cyprus, Lebanon, Syria, Israel, Jordan, Egypt, Libya, eastern Dem. Rep. of the Congo, Rwanda, Burundi, Zambia, Malawi, Mozambique, Zimbabwe, Botswana, Namibia, South Africa, Swaziland, Lesotho

11:00 pm - Svalbard, Jan Mayen, Norway, Sweden, Denmark, Poland, the Czech Republic, Slovakia, Hungary, Slovenia, Croatia, Bosnia and Herzegovina, Serbia, Montenegro, F.Y.R.O.M., Albania, Italy, Switzerland, Liechtenstein, Austria, Germany, the Netherlands, Belgium, Luxembourg, France, Spain, Tunisia, Algeria, Niger, Chad, Benin, Nigeria, Cameroon, Central African Republic, Equatorial Guinea, Gabon, Rep. of the Congo, western Dem. Rep. of the Congo, Angola

Tue Jan 01
midnight - Iceland, the U.K., Portugal, the Madeira Islands, the Canary Islands, Morocco, Western Sahara, Mauritania, Senegal, the Gambia, Mali, Guinea-Bissau, Guinea, Sierra Leone, Liberia, Côte d'Ivoire, Burkina Faso, Ghana, Togo, São Tomé and Príncipe, Ascension, St. Helena, Bouvet Island

01:00 am - Itseqqortoomiit, the Azores, Cape Verde

02:00 am - Fernando de Noronha, southeastern Brazil, Uruguay, Argentina, S. Georgia and the S. Sandwich Islands

03:00 am - Greenland, St. Pierre & Miquelon, Suriname, French Guiana, northeastern Brazil, southwestern Brazil, Paraguay, Chile

03:30 am - Island of Newfoundland

04:00 am - Qaanaaq, Labrador, New Brunswick, P.E.I., Nova Scotia, Bermuda, Dominican Republic, the Lesser Antilles, Trinidad & Tobago, Venezuela, Guyana, northwestern Brazil, Bolivia, the Falkland Islands

05:00 am - Ellesmere Island, Baffin Island, Québec, central and eastern Ontario, Maine, New Hampshire, Vermont, Massachusetts, Rhode Island, Connecticut, New York, New Jersey, Pennsylvania, Michigan, Indiana, Ohio, West Virginia, Maryland, Delaware, Virginia, eastern Kentucky, North Carolina, eastern Tennessee, South Carolina, Georgia, Florida, the Bahamas, Cuba, Haiti, Jamaica, the Cayman Islands, Panama, Colombia, Ecuador, Peru, the western tip of Brazil, Easter Island

06:00 am - Nunavut, Manitoba, western Ontario, Wisconsin, Illinois, northwestern and southwestern bits of Indiana, western Kentucky, western Tennessee, Alabama, the western tip of Florida, Mississippi, Minnesota, Iowa, Missouri, Arkansas, Louisiana, most of N. Dakota, eastern S. Dakota, eastern Nebraska, most of Kansas, Oklahoma, most of Texas, most of Mexico, Guatemala, Belize, El Salvador, Honduras, Nicaragua, Costa Rica, Galapagos Islands

07:00 am - Northwest Territories, Alberta, Montana, southwestern N. Dakota, western S. Dakota, western Nebraska, Wyoming, southern Idaho, most of Malheur County in Oregon, Colorado, four counties on the western border of Kansas, Utah, New Mexico, the two westernmost counties of Texas, Arizona, Sonora, Baja California Sur, Sinaloa, Nayarit

08:00 am - Yukon, British Columbia, Washington, northern Idaho, most of Oregon, Nevada, California, Baja California, Clipperton Island, the Pitcairn Islands

09:00 am - Alaska

09:30 am - Îles Marquises

10:00 am - the Aleutian Islands, Hawaii, French Polynesia, the Cook Islands, Tokelau

11:00 am - Midway Atoll, Kingman Reef, Palmyra Atoll, Jarvis Island, Samoa, American Samoa, Niue

noon ----- Howard Island, Baker Island

  • Post a new comment


    Anonymous comments are disabled in this journal

    default userpic

    Your reply will be screened

    Your IP address will be recorded